Protection of children when they are on board a car is essential since children are susceptible to injuries more than adults during an accident or a crash. According to a report by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) on Global Road Traffic Crash Deaths, Injuries, and Costs, car crashes are the leading cause of death among people of age group between 05-29 years. Different States have different booster seat requirements and have a set of rules for booster seats that are compulsory to observe. In this article, you will learn about the standard requirements for booster seats and will get a comprehensive guide to Kansas booster seat laws. From the essential requirements to the penalties of non-compliance and the merits of proper usage, our experienced car accident attorneys at Royce Injury are here to guide you!
What Are Kansas City Booster Seat Laws?
Booster seat laws in Missouri regulations are in place to ensure the safe traveling of a child in the car. Booster seat guidelines Kansas City obligates drivers to use the appropriate seat restrain system for children below the age of 16. There are different types of booster seat car requirements that you must follow in section 307.179 of the Revisor Statutes of Missouri.
Missouri law for booster seats requires the parents to:
- have a booster seat or a forward seat for children more than two years old but younger than eight years old;
- for children between the ages of eight to eighteen, the parents have an obligation to use a booster seat or a seat belt to secure the children;
- for adult kids who do not need to sit in a booster seat, it is a requirement to secure a seat belt and a lap belt while in the car.
There are the following types of seat restraints in compliance with Missouri booster seat laws:
- Rear-facing car seat: Children under four years or less than forty pounds are required to be protected in a rear-facing car seat with a 5-point harness
- Forward-facing car seat: Forward-facing car seats are used by children who meet the minimum threshold test for children suitable for sitting in forward-facing car seats by the manufacturers.
- Booster seat: Booster seat is compulsory for children aged between four to eight, weighing between 40 to 80 pounds, and are not less than 4 feet nine inches in height.
- Seat belt: Seat belt is compulsory for everyone between the ages of eight to eighteen.
The Price of Breaching Booster Seat Laws
Penalty for non-compliance of the Missouri law for booster seats may result in fines up to $50 or more. The court may dismiss the charges if the parent can successfully show that they have observed compliance with the car booster seat requirements and employed a proper seat restrain system before the court hearing.
However, it is essential to remember that these rules do not apply to public vehicles such as taxis, public transport, buses, etc, that can carry more than 11 passengers.
The Pros of Using Booster Seats
Some of the pros of using booster seats are as follows:
- Safety: The main advantage of a booster seat is that it saves children from potential injuries during car accidents and crashes. Booster seats raise the children to a certain height that enables them to get protected from the potential impact of the force that is created as a result of an accident. Seat belts also reduce the impact of the collision and protect from neck, internal bleeding, and head injuries, that is some of the most common injuries resulting from an accident.
- Compliance with laws: States in the US require drivers to comply with the booster seat laws and have penalties in case of non-compliance. Under MO booster seat laws, it is essential to comply with the booster seat laws to avoid such fines and penalties.
- Comfort: Having a booster seat also saves you from the worry that your child needs protection in case of an accident. The booster seat provides an extra layer of protection to the kids.
Key Tips for Booster Seat Safety
It is crucial to have an understanding of booster seat guidelines in Missouri and the applicable laws. Moreover, it is also essential to have knowledge about the key tips for booster seat safety. Some of the keys for booster seat safety as are follows:
- Always choose the right booster seat: Choosing the right booster seat that is age, weight, and height appropriate for your child must be observed.
- Booster seat is properly installed: Make sure that the seat is properly installed and the seat belt is secured, providing enough space for your child to move around adequately. The belt is not too tight or too loose.
- Perform regular checks: Ensure that the booster seat and belts are routinely checked and maintained to avoid any surprises.
- Comply with the booster seat regulations: Ensure that the booster seat complies with the requirements set out under your respective State laws.
- A booster seat should be away from sensitive parts of the body: Ensure that the belt is placed away from the abdomen and around the hips. The belt should not be secured near sensitive parts of the body such as the neck, shoulders, or face.
- Replace faulty booster seats: Always make sure to replace faulty booster seats if they do not meet the standard safety requirements under the law.
In a nutshell, children are prone to severe injuries in an accident, and for this reason, Missouri has booster seat laws. Such laws are in place to protect children from potential injuries by ensuring compulsory compliance with booster seat guidelines in Missouri for the citizens. Non-compliance with these laws may result in fines and penalties. Therefore, it is essential to have an understanding of your legal obligations and liabilities under booster seat laws. Choosing the right booster seat that meets all the requirements under the law is a daunting task, and car accident lawyers at Royce Injury are here to help you understand what booster seat law requirements are for you.
- Teenager Accidents: What You Should Know and How to Respond - 1st December 2023
- Truck Impact on Wallet: What is the Average Settlement for an 18-Wheeler Accident? - 27th November 2023
- Navigating Pedestrian Safety Laws: Tips for Walkers & Drivers - 22nd November 2023